The Croods: A New Age

Here’s my review of The Croods: A New Age, Dreamworks’ latest movie!

Synopsis: The Croods encounter another family of humans who happen to be very different from them. At the same time, young couple Eep and Guy are thinking about leaving the group to start their own family, which is stressing out patriarch Grug.

The Croods: A New Age trailer - Nicolas Cage, Emma Stone, Ryan Reynolds,  Catherine Keener, Cloris Leachman - video dailymotion

Review: It’s such a beautiful-looking movie, the animation is crisp, colorful and fun. I think it’s well-worth the price just to spend an hour and half comfortably feasting your eyes on gorgeous animation right from your couch. I like this style of character design, including more varied than usual body types among female characters, and I enjoy the environment of plant-animal hybrids which lends itself to plenty of visual gags.

For the story, I’ll admit I could have done without the possessive father protective of his teenage daughter. I think we’ve seen this enough in movies already, namely in the first Croods, so I think Grug could have grown past this attitude by this point. In fact, I think he should have been rooting for Eep and Guy in this movie since the first movie was about him coming around to accepting Guy by the end of the movie.

But beside this detail, I quite enjoyed the story. It was nice to see the friendship between the two teenage girls despite the two families being so different. I think what I love about this series the most is how it pitches the dangers of nature versus how humans innovate to thrive. In the end it had a wholesome lesson about finding common grounds with people who are seemingly different and learning to get along.

Croods 2 Bows Overseas With $21M; Demon Slayer Tops Titanic In Japan –  Deadline

Conclusion: I highly recommend it for families, but also couples. It’s guaranteed to put you in a good mood as there’s no talk of anything overly negative and it’s not trying to make you cry. You can just sit back and enjoy the fabulous colors. 🍉🍉🍉🍉

Leave a comment